Many Thanks To Our 2018-2019 Financial Literacy Volunteers!

Students listen to a presentation on financial literacy at the Boston Branch of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court.

Since January 2019, more than 700 students heard from volunteer attorneys about the importance of finance and budgeting. The BBA is proud to have reached so many students through this statewide program and is grateful for the support of Chief Judge Melvin S. Hoffman, Judge Frank J. Bailey, Judge Joan N. Feeney (Ret.), Judge Elizabeth D. Katz, and Judge Christopher J. Panos, as well as the Hampden and Hampshire County Bar Associations.

This past year, over 100 volunteers taught in 9 schools and addressed the interns participating in the U.S. District Court’s Nelson Fellowship and the BBA’s Summer Jobs Program. Prior to the first sessions, the M. Ellen Carpenter Financial Literacy Committee updated the materials provided to the students, which include discussions on credit card spending, budgeting, and financing “large purchases,” including automobiles, furniture, renting an apartment, and paying for college.

Thank you to all this year’s volunteers who made the program possible!

Hon. Frank J. Bailey, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Ana Balcarcel, Charles River Associates
Joseph Baldiga, Mirick O’Connell
Jeremy Bardsley, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
Joshua Beiser, Liberty Mutual Group
Jesse Belcher-Timme
Tamarah Belczyk, Audax Management Company, LLC
Jessica Berrien
Janet Bostwick, Janet E. Bostwick, PC
Christopher Candon, Sheehan Phinney Bass & Green PA
Ariel Clemmer, Hampden County Bar Association
Michele Collins, Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company
Gary Cruickshank, Law Office of Gary W. Cruickshank
Kathleen Cruickshank, Murphy & King
Elizabeth Downing, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Julie Evrard, Liberty Mutual Group
Andrew Farrington
Hon. Joan N. Feeney (Ret.)
Kate Foley, Mirick O’Connell
Eric Forni, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
Maya French, Office of the Inspector General of Massachusetts
Jessica Galimberti, ACCION International
Henry Geberth, Hendel, Collins & O’Connor, P.C.
Robert Girvan, Weiner Law Firm, PC
Lane Goldberg, Goldberg Law
Pamela Harbeson, Board of Bar Overseers
Lee Harrington, Nixon Peabody LLP
William Harrington, U.S. Department of Justice – Office of the U.S. Trustee
Everald Henry
Rachel Hershfang, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
Hon. Melvin S. Hoffman, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Jonathan Horne, Murtha Cullina
Hon. Elizabeth D. Katz, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Ryan Kelley, Pierce Atwood, LLP
Justin Kesselman, Arent Fox
Anna Kordan, Liberty Mutual Group
Eric Kornblum, Law Office of Eric D. Kornblum
Leah Kunkel
Cory Lamz, Buoy Health, Inc.
Donald Lassman, Law Office of Donald R. Lassman
Maren Law, Attorney at Law
Amy Lipman, White, Lipman & White
Lisa Lippiello, Olin Lippiello LLP
John Loughnane, Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP
Cornelio Lozada
David Madoff, Madoff & Khoury LLP
Nora Marantz, Liberty Mutual Group
Alex Mattera, Partridge, Snow & Hahn LLP
Rose Miller, Office of the Massachusetts Attorney General
René Moniz, Partridge, Snow & Hahn, LLP
Catherine Neijstrom, Gilmore, Rees & Carlson P.C.
Andrea O’Connor, Hendel, Collins & O’Connor, P.C.
Robert Opsitnick
David Ostrander, Ostrander Law Office
Bridget O’Sullivan Somogie, Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Securities Division
Maureen Pachucki, Liberty Mutual Group
Gregory Pakhladzhyan, American Student Assistance
Hon. Christopher J. Panos, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Danielle Panos, Liberty Mutual Group
Steffani Pelton Nicholson, Madoff & Khoury LLP
Steven Pohl, Brown Rudnick LLP
Cassandra Prince
Nestor Ramirez, Liberty Mutual Group
Louis Robin, Law Offices of Louis S. Robin
Alex Rodolakis, Fletcher Tilton, PC
Douglas Rosner, Goulston & Storrs PC
Adam Ruttenberg, Arent Fox
Natalie Sawyer, Massachusetts Division of Capital Asset Management
Mary Sharon, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Rosa Sierra, Brown Rudnick LLP
Jacob Simon, Simon Law
Christina Simpson, The Law Office of Christina Simpson
Stephen Smith, National Association of Consumer Advocates
Leslie Storm, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Leslie Su, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Massachusetts
Erica Sullivan, Liberty Mutual Group
Mark Tanner
Rebecca Thibault
Jennifer Tracy, Liberty Mutual Group
Christina Turgeon, Law Office of Christina M. Turgeon
Steven Veenema, Murphy & King
Steven Weiss, Shatz, Schwartz and Fentin, PC
Thomas Wilson, Dunn & Wilson
Keri Wintle, Duane Morris LLP
Jessica Youngberg, Veterans Legal Services
David Zou, Harvard Kennedy School
Marianne Zurn